A misunderstood scripture Matthew 12

*******************
Matthew 12
38 Then some of the scribes and Pharisees said to Him, “Teacher, we want to see a sign (attesting miracle) from You [proving that You are what You claim to be].”
39 But He replied and said to them, “An evil and adulterous generation [that is morally unfaithful to God] craves and demands a [miraculous] sign; but no sign will be given to it except the sign of the prophet Jonah;
*******************

Who was this sign given to?
Scripture tells us that this sign would be given to an evil and adulterous generation.

Adultery is when one has sexual intercourse between a married person and a person who is not their spouse. It results in unfaithfulness between the person they are married to and breaks the covenant with that person.

This is who this sign is given to. It is not the sign which is given to those who follow the commandments of Yahuwah, but the those who are they who are the adulterers.  Yahuwah knew what He was saying here for this sign would be used by those who commit this adultery.

The verse tells us that there would be no miraculous sign given to those who seek a sign, but the sign of the prophet Jonah.  What was the sign of the prophet Jonah and why does scripture say it is not miraculous?  The answer is due to where the sign is from.

*******************
Matthew 12
40 for just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the sea monster, so will the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.

*******************

Jonah was persecuted in the belly of the whale for three days and three nights. Jonah was not dead. He was alive, but it was during this time he was being persecuted.

In scripture Jerusalem is considered to be the heart of the earth. We read this in the following scriptures:

*******************
Ezekiel 5:5
Thus saith Yahuwah. this is Yahrushalom which I have set in the midst of the nations and countries that are round about her.

Psalms 74:12
For Elohim is my sovereign for old, working deliverance from the midst of the earth.

 

Ezekiel 38:12
to take plunder and to take body, to stretch out your hand against the waste places that are inhabited, and against a people gathered from the nations, acquiring livestock and goods, who dwell in the midst of the earth.

*******************

Yahushua was to be in Yahrushalom and be persecuted by those round about him. He would say, “My Eloah, My Eloah, why has thou forsaken me?”

*******************
Jonah 2

Then Jonah prayed to Yahuwah his Elohim from the stomach of the fish, and said,

“I called out of my trouble and distress to Yahuwah,
And He answered me;
Out of the belly of Sheol I cried for help,
And You heard my voice.
“For You cast me into the deep,
Into the [deep] heart of the seas,
And the currents surrounded and engulfed me;
All Your breakers and billowing waves passed over me.

“Then I said, ‘I have been cast out of Your sight.
Nevertheless I will look again toward Your holy temple.’
“The waters surrounded me, to the point of death.
The great deep engulfed me,
Seaweed was wrapped around my head.

*******************

In the same way Yahushua was cast into the deep, Jonah asked why He had been cast out of the sight of Yahuwah.

*******************
Matthew 27
46 About the ninth hour Yahushua cried out with a loud [agonized] voice, [j]Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, My El, My El, why have You forsaken Me?”
*******************

It is in Psalms 22 we read these words repeated:

*******************
Psalms 22
1 My El, my El, why have You forsaken me?
Why are You so far from helping me, and from the words of my groaning?
O my Elohim, I call out by day, but You do not answer;
And by night, but I find no rest nor quiet.
*******************

The waters which surround Jonah represent the false doctrines of this world. They engulf us to the point of death. The wrap around our heads as seaweed that we might not see the truth, but instead view only the seaweed – the doctrines and teachings – of the oceans – the nations.

In the same way Yahushua was persecuted. He was not presecuted after He died. He was persecuted to the point of death. Yahushua, the innocent lamb, paid the price for our sins by being persecuted as an innocent lamb was sacrificed.

It is not that Yahuwah wanted a physical sacrifice. It was that Yahuwah wanted our spiritual sacrifice as represented in His death. He wants us to love Him, and this love is shown through our dedication to Him – our sacrifice of showing Him our love by not doing just as we want, but doing as He wants. This is the sacrfice that He desires.

What parent does not sacrifice time for their child? We do it because we love them Yahushuah sacrifices things for us, giving us the things which we desire. We are told to walk as He walked. By providing our love to Him, we also sacrifice to Him, by doing the things which He desires. This is a circle of love. His love points to us and our live points to Him.

In this way Yahuwah brings us out of the pit of death, as He did for Yahushua after He paid the price. Jonah did not die. But was provided with a second chance because of Yahuwah’s love for Him. Jonah was with Sin. Yahushua was without.

********************
Jonah 2
“I descended to the [very] roots of the mountains.
The earth with its bars closed behind me [bolting me in] forever,
Yet You have brought up my life from the pit (death), O Yahuwah my Elohim.
“When my soul was fainting within me,
I remembered Yahuwah,
And my prayer came to You,
Into Your holy temple.
***********************

As the sign was given to those who are the adulterers, they also have the opportunity to turn from their ways and to follow Him.

***********************
Jonah 2
8  “Those who regard and follow worthless idols
Turn away from their [living source of] mercy and lovingkindness.
“But [as for me], I will sacrifice to You
With the voice of thanksgiving;
I shall pay that which I have vowed.
Salvation is from Yahuwah!”

10 So Yahuwah commanded the fish, and it vomited Jonah up onto the dry land.

***********************

Those saved will judge this generation as they repented at the preaching of Jonah.

***********************
Matthew 12
41 
The men of Nineveh will stand up
[as witnesses] at the judgment against this generation, and will condemn it because they repented at the preaching of Jonah; and now, something greater than Jonah is here.

***********************
So what was the reasoning that Yahushua said these things? Was it to confuse the people? Divide them perhaps with some saying He rose upon the third day and others saying He rose upon the third night?

The purpose of this was to show those who are following the beast that this is what they were doing. It was to divide those who followed Him from those who do not. Those who do not follow him, the wicked and adulterous generation would not interpret the sign correctly, but rather twist it for themself.

***********************
Luke 8:10
10 And He said, “To you [who have been chosen]it has been granted to know and recognize the mysteries of the kingdom of Yahuwah, but to the rest it is in parables, so that though seeing they may not see, and hearing they may not understand.
***********************

Will you too listen or shall you forbear?